Home » Fiction Book Reviews » The Tuscan Daughter by Tessa Harris : a review

The Tuscan Daughter by Tessa Harris : a review

I’m delighted to be sharing Laura’s thoughts about The Tuscan Daughter by Tessa Harris.

Jera’s Jamboree receives payments for affiliate advertising. This is at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. As a Cratejoy affiliate I earn if you click on a link and shop from my link. Please see my disclosure policy for more information.

book cover for The Tuscan Daughter by Tessa Harris.  A woman is sitting out in the countryside with a town behind her and planes flying over the town

The Tuscan Daughter by Tessa Harris

  • Category : Historical Fiction
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ HQ (25 April 2024)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Paperback ‏ : ‎ 384 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 0008640491
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-0008640491
  • Amazon | Waterstones | Goodreads

The Tuscan Daughter Summary

A country at war. An impossible choice. A woman who will risk everything to be free.

Tuscany, 1942: having moved from England to the beautiful city of Lucca before the outbreak of war, Lizzie Thornton adores her job as tutor to eight-year-old Cristo – despite the fact that his father, Count Antonio de Falco, is a notable fascist and supporter of Mussolini.

Then war is declared, and Lizzie is suddenly regarded as an enemy in the country she loves so much. When new tutor Vincenzo Baldini arrives, Lizzie is exposed to a new secret world; Vincenzo is actually a member of the Italian resistance, running an anti-fascist propaganda magazine. Lizzie, desperate to be part of the fight, joins Vincenzo’s unit, and soon she is head over heels in love.

But when someone from her past reappears and threatens to overturn her new life, Lizzie must decide if she has the strength to fight for what, and who, she truly wants.

Based on true events, The Tuscan Daughter is a heartbreaking story of one woman’s resilience in the face of fascism, perfect for fans of Mandy Robotham and Kate Quinn.

The Tuscan Daughter Review

The Tuscan Daughter is a captivating book based on a true story during the Second World War. Lizzie Thornton left England to become a tutor in Lucca, Tuscany, a job she cared very much for.

Sadly, leaving behind a war lost fiancé Lizzie decided a new start was needed. As the father of her pupil was a fascist and a supporter of Mussolini she had to be vigilant as she was considered an enemy of the country.

A new tutor appears and Lizzie discovers that this man holds many secrets. As the weeks and months continue Lizzie demonstrates resilience and courage as she supports the Italian resistance and travelling across the country in times of need and necessity.

I really enjoyed this fast-paced story set during the war. Lizzie held my interest with her incredible strength during heartbreak and I was shocked with how much she had to endure and her courageous attitude in times of danger.

A few surprises are included in this wartime romance and I thoroughly enjoyed the descriptions of the setting.

A wonderful story.

Related Books

About the Author

TESSA HARRIS read History at Oxford University and has been a journalist, writing for several national newspapers and magazines for more than thirty years. She is the author of nine published historical novels. Her debut, The Anatomist’s Apprentice, won the Romantic Times First Best Mystery Award 2012 in the US. She lectures in creative writing at Hawkwood College, Stroud and is married with two children. She lives in the Cotswolds.

Facebook: Tessa Harris Author

Twitter:@harris_tessa

www.tessaharrisauthor.com

Leave a comment