Home » Historical Fiction » Review : The Witch’s Tree by Elena Collins

Review : The Witch’s Tree by Elena Collins

We’re delighted to be sharing Elena’s thoughts about The Witch’s Tree by Elena Collins.

Jera’s Jamboree receives payments for affiliate advertising. This is at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. As a Cratejoy affiliate I earn if you click on a link and shop from my link. Please see my disclosure policy for more information.

Book cover for The Witch's Tree by Elena Collins.  Sunset with a leafless tree in the middle and a figure in the distance
  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B09SP4VV61
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Boldwood Books (17 May 2022)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 3397 KB

A tale as old as time. A spirit that has never rested.

Present day

As a love affair comes to an end, and with it her dreams for her future, artist Selena needs a retreat.  The picture-postcard Sloe Cottage in the Somerset village of Ashcombe promises to be the perfect place to forget her problems, and Selena settles into her new home as spring arrives.  But it isn’t long before Selena hears the past whispering to her. Sloe Cottage is keeping secrets which refuse to stay hidden.

1682

Grace Cotter longs for nothing more than a husband and family of her own. Content enough with her work on the farm, looking after her father, and learning the secrets of her grandmother Bett’s healing hands, nevertheless Grace still hopes for love. But these are dangerous times for dreamers, and rumours and gossip can be deadly. One mis-move and Grace’s fate looks set…

Separated by three hundred years, two women are drawn together by a home bathed in blood and magic. Grace Cotter’s spirit needs to rest, and only Selena can help her now.

USA Today bestselling author Judy Leigh writing as Elena Collins, brings you this unforgettable, heart-breaking, gripping timeslip novel set in a world when women were hung as witches, and fates could be sealed by a wrong word. Perfect for fans of Barbara Erskine, Diana Gabaldon and Louise Douglas.

Book Review

Following a break-up after a toxic relationship, Selina decides that the best way to heal from everything that’s happened to her is to spend a few months in a remote cottage in the countryside.

She chooses a cottage in rural Somerset and straight away the feeling that there is a presence becomes clear to her. It’s as if the house has a story to tell and a mystery to solve, and Selina decides to try and solve it.

In the late 1600s, Grace lives at the same cottage, working on the farm and looking after her father. She would love to find someone to fall in love with, and is enjoying learning from her grandmother who has ‘healing hands’. However, there is a danger and malice towards women that were said to ‘heal’ with herbs and this superstition haunts Grace and threatens to destroy her life.

The Witch’s Tree is simply stunning.  The dual timeline, along with beautiful characters makes this story addictive and enthralling.

I loved the prevailing dark moodiness of the plot and the supernatural element which pervades both Selina and Grace’s story.

I was desperate for Grace to find happiness and for Selina to get to know her, through her own investigation into her home.

The setting and scenery is beautiful and I felt pity towards ‘witches’ who were hounded and brought to trial simply for trying to heal through the only means they had.

A heart-breaking and atmospheric read.

Track of your Book Stats up to 2030 and Beyond

With its easy-to-use layout and user-friendly design, this Google Sheet Template will help you organize and keep track of your reading.

This spreadsheet holds all the information you’ll need in one place for paperbacks, hardbacks, eBooks and audiobooks. As well as the usual stats of Title, Author, Date Published and reading progress, this book review template has data and ratings for the following:

  • series title and number
  • characters
  • atmosphere
  • writing
  • plot
  • pacing
  • world building
  • enjoyment
  • grading / star rating
Overview and Google sheet from a reading tracker

Download your copy today and keep a record to transform your love of books into an organized and enriching experience.


Elena Collins is the pen name of Judy Leigh. Judy Leigh is the bestselling author of Five French Hens A Grand Old Time and The Age of Misadventure and the doyenne of the ‘it’s never too late’ genre of women’s fiction. She has lived all over the UK from Liverpool to Cornwall, but currently resides in Somerset.

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/judyleighuk

Twitter https://twitter.com/judyleighwriter

Instagram https://www.instagram.com/judyrleigh/

Newsletter Sign Up: https://bit.ly/JudyLeighNews

Leave a comment