Home » Historical Fiction » Review : The Orphans of Berlin by Jina Bacarr

Review : The Orphans of Berlin by Jina Bacarr

We’re delighted to be sharing Elena’s thoughts about The Orphans of Berlin by Jina Bacarr.

Jera’s Jamboree receives payments for affiliate advertising. This is at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. As a Cratejoy affiliate I earn if you click on a link and shop from my link. Please see my disclosure policy for more information.

book cover for The Orphans of Berlin by Jina Bacarr.  Three young girls are walking towards a steam train.  One of the girls is looking back
  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B0B96STC8J
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Boldwood Books (10 Nov. 2022)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 3044 KB

A heartbreaking World War 2 novel that tells the story of two women’s fight for love, family and hope, as the world crumbles around them. Based on the true story of the Kindertransport rescue from Nazi-occupied Europe.

Berlin, 1936. The Landau family are at the heart of their community, running a music shop in Berlin and just trying to survive. But their lives are unravelling as Hitler’s power increases and the treatment of Jewish families deteriorates. Eldest daughter, Rachel, fears for her sisters’ future and will do anything she can to keep them safe. Will she find hope in the darkness?

Paris, 1936. As whispers of war travel over from Europe, American debutante Kay escapes her mother’s grasp and travels as a reluctant spy from Paris to Berlin. But a chance meeting with the Landau family will change her life forever. Kay is determined to give Rachel and her sisters a fighting chance in a society where the youngest are paying the ultimate price, even if it means making dangerous enemies along the way…

As the world marches toward war, these brave women will find strength in joining forces to save the ones they love. But they will need the support of one another more than they will ever realise in order to survive…

A gripping and heart-wrenching historical novel about hope, tragedy and two women’s limitless courage. Perfect for fans of The Tattooist of AuschwitzThe Nightingale and My Name is Eva.

Book Review

Kay Alexander is an American heiress to a confectionery business and is utterly bored by her life as a debutante. Her mother wants her to find a suitable husband and settle down but Kay has other ideas as she is desperate for a life full of adventure.

This adventurous streak eventually leads her to a life as a spy during WW2.

Kay is a strong, independent and spirited woman who feels she has more to give than the life that’s expected of her. After experiencing deep tragedy herself she is determined to help Jewish children escape Nazi Germany and she makes it her mission to do good.

Rachel lives in Berlin with her parents and two sisters above a music shop.

Life begins to get more and more dangerous for them as Nazi Germany ramps up their campaign against Jews.

When Rachel meets Kay she sees that this woman can help her and her family to escape the persecution that will inevitably be their fate if they stay in Germany. Can they escape without getting caught?

The Orphan’s of Berlin is an epic, brilliant read with some remarkable strong characters in Kay and Rachel.

I was fully immersed whilst reading and the writing style meant that I could easily imagine the setting and scenery.

I felt so sad for Kay but then happiness. Her mission to help Jewish children was wonderful and I enjoyed learning how they escaped.

The era must have been incredibly hard to live through and I got a real sense of this all the way through.

The writing is chatty, I felt as though Kay was talking directly with me at times.

I really enjoyed The Orphans of Berlin and I’d love to read more from the author in future!

Track of your Book Stats up to 2030 and Beyond

With its easy-to-use layout and user-friendly design, this Google Sheet Template will help you organize and keep track of your reading.

This spreadsheet holds all the information you’ll need in one place for paperbacks, hardbacks, eBooks and audiobooks. As well as the usual stats of Title, Author, Date Published and reading progress, this book review template has data and ratings for the following:

  • series title and number
  • characters
  • atmosphere
  • writing
  • plot
  • pacing
  • world building
  • enjoyment
  • grading / star rating
Overview and Google sheet from a reading tracker

Download your copy today and keep a record to transform your love of books into an organized and enriching experience.

Jina Bacarr is a US-based historical romance author of over 10 previous books. She has been a screenwriter, journalist and news reporter, but now writes full-time and lives in LA. Jina’s novels have been sold in 9 territories. Her first novel with Boldwood is called Her Lost Love.

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/JinaBacarr.author

Twitter https://twitter.com/JinaBacarr

Instagram https://www.instagram.com/jinabacarr/  

Newsletter Sign Up: https://bit.ly/JinaBacarrNews  

Bookbub profile: https://www.bookbub.com/authors/jina-bacarr

Leave a comment