Home » Historical Fiction » Review : The Last Dress From Paris by Jade Beer

Review : The Last Dress From Paris by Jade Beer

We’re delighted to be sharing Laura’s thoughts about The Last Dress From Paris by Jade Beer.

Jera’s Jamboree receives payments for affiliate advertising. This is at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. As a Cratejoy affiliate I earn if you click on a link and shop from my link. Please see my disclosure policy for more information.

book cover for The Last Dress from Paris by Jade Beer.  A woman is facing away from the cover and she is dressed in a sumptuous silk dress

Each Dior dress tells a story…

London, 2017. When her beloved grandmother, Sylvie, sends her to Paris to retrieve a dress she wore decades before, Lucille sees the perfect opportunity to briefly escape the pressures of her own life. But not everything is as it seems, and the long-buried secrets she discovers, hidden in a collection of priceless Dior gowns, could change everything.

Paris, 1952. Postwar France is full of glamour and privilege, and Alice Ainsley is in the middle of it all. As the wife to the British ambassador to France, her life is a whirlwind of jewels, banquets and couture dresses, but beneath the glittering facade, Alice is suffocating in a loveless marriage. So when a new face appears in her drawing room, Alice finds herself yearning to follow her heart . . . no matter the consequences.

Deliciously evocative and achingly romantic, sweeping from 50s Paris to the V&A museum in London, The Last Dress from Paris is the perfect read for fans of Natasha Lester, Fiona Valpy and Gill Paul.

The Last Dress from Paris Review

I fell in love with this book. I adored the descriptions of Paris at such a glamorous time and I could only imagine the exquisite couture dresses.

Lucille in 2017 is given a task by her granny Sylvie to return a Dior dress to her from Paris. On her arrival Lucille discovers it is actually many dresses. Lucille also has to discover the whereabouts by using cards which were kept by the original owner.

Lucille finds herself visiting Paris further than she imagined with the help of a shopkeeper called Leon.

Set as a dual timeline and in Paris 1952 follows Alice Ainsley, wife of the British Ambassador. Alice is given everything she desires including many couture gowns however her marriage is lacking passion and respect.

A great plot, wonderful scenery, beautiful descriptive writing and lovely characters.

Highly recommended.

Track of your Book Stats up to 2030 and Beyond

With its easy-to-use layout and user-friendly design, this Google Sheet Template will help you organize and keep track of your reading.

This spreadsheet holds all the information you’ll need in one place for paperbacks, hardbacks, eBooks and audiobooks. As well as the usual stats of Title, Author, Date Published and reading progress, this book review template has data and ratings for the following:

  • series title and number
  • characters
  • atmosphere
  • writing
  • plot
  • pacing
  • world building
  • enjoyment
  • grading / star rating
Overview and Google sheet from a reading tracker

Download your copy today and keep a record to transform your love of books into an organized and enriching experience.

Jade Beer is an award-winning editor, journalist, and novelist who has worked across the UK national press for more than twenty years. Most recently, she was the editor-in-chief of Condé Nast Brides. She also writes for other leading titles including The Sunday Times Style, Harper’s Bazaar, The Mail On Sunday’s YOU magazine, The Telegraph, the Daily Mail, the Tatler Weddings Guide, Glamour, and Stella magazine. Jade lives in the Cotswolds with her husband and two daughters.

Leave a comment