Home » Thriller » Book Review | My Sister’s Child by Karen Clarke

Book Review | My Sister’s Child by Karen Clarke

We’re delighted to be sharing Elena’s thoughts about My Sister’s Child by Karen Clarke.

Jera’s Jamboree receives payments for affiliate advertising. This is at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. As a Cratejoy affiliate I earn if you click on a link and shop from my link. Please see my disclosure policy for more information.

book cover for My Sister's Child by Karen Clarke.  A woman with dark hair is on a rocky ledge facing the sea
  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B09KZ6219G
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ HQ Digital (8 Dec. 2021)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 1699 KB

I promised her I’d protect him… and I’ll do anything to keep him safe. 

Five years ago, my sister Rachel left her baby boy on my doorstep. A little bundle wrapped in blankets.

I loved him. I cared for him. I called him Noah and raised him as my own.

Rachel was full of secrets, and the truth about Noah was one we shared. A secret just between sisters.

Now, my sister is dead. The police say it was an accident… But I’m convinced that’s a lie.

I owe it to Rachel to uncover the truth… Even if I risk losing the family I’ve fought so hard for.

Dark family secrets rise to the surface in this utterly gripping and emotional page-turner! My Sister’s Child will keep you reading long into the night and is perfect for fans of Nicole Trope and Claire Amarti!

My Sister’s Child Review

Jess has been living happily with husband Adam and son Noah for 5 years and on the surface everything seems perfect for them all. However, one day Jess learns that her sister Rachel has been found dead and the perfect life she’s seemingly been living is about to come crashing down all around her. For Noah isn’t her biological son, he is Rachel’s, and Rachel’s death appears suspicious to Jess. She is convinced the death was a murder.

Jess is determined to get to the bottom of her sister’s death and begins her own investigation into it. As she digs deeper and deeper, secrets are revealed which prove to be explosive and she is desperate to prove that what happened to Rachel was not an accident.

My Sister’s Child is full of suspense and I enjoyed reading it from the very beginning. I was hooked almost straight away and was longing to find out what happened to Rachel.

I found the pace of the book to be perfect and this made the story completely absorbing as well as thrilling.

I wanted to find out what happened to Rachel and why and so read this late into the night as I couldn’t put it down! I was not expecting it to end the way it did and I loved that I couldn’t predict the conclusion. 

An entertaining and suspenseful read. 

Track of your Book Stats up to 2030 and Beyond

With its easy-to-use layout and user-friendly design, this Google Sheet Template will help you organize and keep track of your reading.

This spreadsheet holds all the information you’ll need in one place for paperbacks, hardbacks, eBooks and audiobooks. As well as the usual stats of Title, Author, Date Published and reading progress, this book review template has data and ratings for the following:

  • series title and number
  • characters
  • atmosphere
  • writing
  • plot
  • pacing
  • world building
  • enjoyment
  • grading / star rating
Overview and Google sheet from a reading tracker

Download your copy today and keep a record to transform your love of books into an organized and enriching experience.


KAREN CLARKE writes her novels in Buckinghamshire, where she lives with her husband and three grown-up children. Having previously published twelve romantic comedies, Karen switched to the dark side, co-writing psychological thriller The Secret Sister and The Perfect Nanny with fellow author Amanda Brittany.

Your Life For Mine is Karen’s first solo psychological suspense novel and she’s currently working on her second.

When she’s not writing, Karen reads a lot, loves walking, photography, going to the cinema, baking and eating cake (not all at the same time).

Twitter : @karenclarke123

Leave a comment