Home » Fiction Book Reviews » Book Review | A Mother Never Lies by Sarah Clarke

Book Review | A Mother Never Lies by Sarah Clarke

We’re delighted to be sharing Elena’s thoughts about A Mother Never Lies by Sarah Clarke.

Jera’s Jamboree receives payments for affiliate advertising. This is at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. As a Cratejoy affiliate I earn if you click on a link and shop from my link. Please see my disclosure policy for more information.

book cover for A Mother Never Lies by Sarah Clarke.  Deep blue background, A Mother Lies is in white text and never in red text.  A child's bunny toy lays sprawled in the middle of the cover
  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B097CPSGNW
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ HQ Digital (27 Aug. 2021)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 1237 KB

SOME TRUTHS CAN’T BE TOLD.

I had the perfect life – a nice house, a loving husband, a beautiful little boy.

But in one devastating night, they were all ripped from me.

It’s been fourteen years, and I’m finally ready to face the past.

I’m taking my son back.

He just can’t know who I am…or why we were torn apart.

A nail-biting thriller packed with twists and turns, perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell and Shalini Boland.

Book Review

The main character in A Mother Never Lies is Phoebe and it quickly becomes clear that her life has blown apart, the reasons why becoming clearer as the book progresses.

She used to have what people would assume is a perfect life. A gorgeous home, beautiful son and loving husband.

One bombshell event shatters that life and Phoebe is still suffering the consequences.

Her son Charlie had to be adopted so when she moves to London to stay with her unconventional and alcoholic parents, she’s determined to find her son at last. He’s now called Ben and he has issues of his own to deal with. 

The story alternates between both Ben and Phoebe’s points of view and the events of how and why she had to give him up fourteen years ago gradually emerge.

The tension slowly bubbles away and I felt sorry for her as I couldn’t imagine what it must’ve been like to give up her son.

I was desperate to find out what happened and wasn’t prepared for the shocking rollercoaster that was her life!

I was invested in the reconnection between mother and son and longed for their relationship to develop. 

I loved Flora and Paul, Phoebe’s parents, who had issues of their own.

The pace increases around the half way mark and the book becomes a total page-turner.

There is a perfect amount of suspense and intrigue and superbly drawn characters that make this book an excellent debut!

A must-read. 

Elena's signature

Sarah Clarke bio:

I started writing psychological thrillers when I was 7. My teachers raised an eyebrow but it didn’t dampen my enthusiasm for the genre. After studying for a degree in Politics & International Relations, travelling the world for 6 years, and completing 5 ski seasons, I moved to London and became a copywriter, wife and mother. In 2018 I enrolled on the Faber Academy Writing a Novel course and finally learned the craft I loved. I joined HQ Digital in March 2020 and A Mother Never Lies is my debut novel.

Twitter @SCWwriter

Books by Sarah Clarke

My Perfect Friend

Every Little Secret

A Mother Never Lies


You may also like:

[wp_show_posts id=”44675″]

Leave a comment