Fiction Book Reviews

Thriller | The Prized Girl | Amy K Green

Jera's Jamboree receives compensation for affiliate advertising. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Please see my disclosure policy for more information.

We’re delighted to be on the HQ tour today sharing Laura’s thoughts for The Prized Girl by Amy K Green.


Book cover for The Prized Girl by Amy K Green

The Prized Girl by Amy K Green is published by HQ and is available to purchase in digital, paperback and audiobook formats.

A murdered beauty queen. A town full of secrets. Who killed Jenny?

Jenny Kennedy appears to have it all. She’s the perfect daughter, the popular girl at school and a successful beauty queen. But then Jenny is found dead in a murder that rocks the small town she grew up in to the core.

Her estranged half-sister Virginia finds herself thrust into the spotlight as the case dominates the news and is desperate to uncover who killed Jenny. But she soon realises that maybe Jenny’s life wasn’t so perfect after all.

The truth is that Jenny has more than a few secrets of her own, and so do her neighbours… What really happened that night?

A gripping crime thriller about a shocking murder in a picture-perfect small town, perfect for fans of Big Little Lies and Thirteen Reasons Why.


Review

The Prized Girl is a psychological thriller involving the murder of a teen pageant queen in New England.

It is a dark thriller with suspense and secondary characters to keep you guessing the outcome. Told using two points of view, Jenny leading up to her death and her half-sister Virginia, who shares her own traumatic past.

I preferred the chapters told by Jenny as I think I prefer her character. Virginia is a complex character often conflicting with her emotions about the murder. She is sometimes focused and determined to find the murderer and in other times torn up about her past and relationship with her father and sister. Both sisters have their own secrets to tell and are entwined in the murder of Jenny.

The ending is not shocking disappointingly, although it may be that I have read too many similar story lines in this genre.

There are enough secondary characters acting as red herrings to make this a good story.

As a debut novel it is a great read and I would enjoy reading more from this author.

Jera's Jamboree

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


Amy K. Green was born and raised in a small New England town where she was once struck by lightning. She was a practicing CPA before leaving the corporate life to work in film production, write, and wear fewer high heels. She lives in Boston. Twitter: @amykgreen Instagram: amykgreen1


Sharing is caring!

I've been blogging about my interests at Jera's Jamboree for 9+ years. My love of reading, crocheting, being out in nature and positive psychology are all things that help me unwind from my role as an Inclusion Lead in a primary school.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *