Fiction Book Reviews

Thriller | The Fourth Courier | Timothy Jay Smith

Jera's Jamboree receives compensation for adverts and affiliate advertising. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Please see my disclosure policy for more information.

We’re delighted to be on tour today sharing Laura’s thoughts for The Fourth Courier by Timothy Jay Smith.


The Fourth Courier by Timothy Jay Smith (book cover)

For International Espionage Fans of Alan Furst and Daniel Silva, a new thriller set in post-Soviet era Poland.

It is 1992 in Warsaw, Poland, and the communist era has just ended. A series of grisly murders suddenly becomes an international case when it’s feared that the victims may have been couriers smuggling nuclear material out of the defunct Soviet Union. The FBI sends an agent to help with the investigation. When he learns that a Russian physicist who designed a portable atomic bomb has disappeared, the race is on to find him—and the bomb—before it ends up in the wrong hands.

Smith’s depiction of post-cold war Poland is gloomily atmospheric and murky in a world where nothing is quite as it seems. Suspenseful, thrilling, and smart, The Fourth Courier brings together a straight white FBI agent and gay black CIA officer as they team up to uncover a gruesome plot involving murder, radioactive contraband, narcissistic government leaders, and unconscionable greed.

The Fourth Courier by Timothy Jay Smith is published by Arcade Publishing and is available to purchase in digital and hardcover formats.


Review

I found The Fourth Courier exciting, fascinating and wonderfully written. I was completely  drawn into this fast-paced espionage thriller, as it was a new style of thriller for me.

FBI agent Jay Porter arrives in Warsaw, Poland to help the Polish police investigate murders appearing on the river bank.  The bodies are found with a stub of a sixth finger, so questions of their relationship are put into question.

Set in 1990’s after the recent collapse of the Soviet Union. Timothy Jay Smith captures grey, gloomy Poland wonderfully, and with food shortages, this time felt tragic and turbulent.

Other characters gave the novel plenty of deception, violence and intrigue. General Drako Mladic is a dangerous and complicated man, with dreams of owning powerful nuclear weapons. While Basia Husarska is a fiery femme fatale with a need to impress.

An interesting read with lots of action.

Jera's Jamboree

Timothy Jay Smith author photo

Raised crisscrossing America pulling a small green trailer behind the family car, Timothy Jay Smith
developed a ceaseless wanderlust that has taken him around the world many times. Polish cops and Greek
fishermen, mercenaries and arms dealers, child prostitutes and wannabe terrorists, Indian Chiefs and
Indian tailors: he hung with them all in an unparalleled international career that saw him smuggle banned
plays from behind the Iron Curtain, maneuver through Occupied Territories, represent the U.S. at the highest levels of foreign governments, and stowaway aboard a “devil’s barge” for a three-days crossing from Cape Verde that landed him in
an African jail.


These experiences explain the unique breadth and sensibility of Tim’s work, for which he’s won
top honors. Fire on the Island won the Gold Medal in the 2017 Faulkner-Wisdom Competition for the Novel. He won the Paris Prize for Fiction (now the Paris Literary Prize) for his novel, A Vision of Angels . Kirkus Reviews called Cooper’s Promise “literary dynamite” and selected it as
one of the Best Books of 2012. Tim was nominated for the 2018 Pushcart Prize. His screenplays have won numerous competitions. His first stage play, How High the Moon , won the prestigious Stanley Drama Award. He is the founder of the Smith Prize for Political Theater.

Connect with Timothy Jay Smith

Website: http://www.timothyjaysmith.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/TimothyJaySmith /

Twitter: https://twitter.com/TimothyJaySmith/

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/timothyjaysmith/


I've been blogging about my interests at Jera's Jamboree for 8+ years. My love of reading, crocheting and being out in nature are all things that help me unwind from my role as an Inclusion Lead in a primary school. I'm passionate about early help and sharing strategies with families to empower and help build resilience. I'm a member of of my Local Authority's Early Help Operational Board, working alongside other professionals to instigate change and growth.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *