Book News

Romantic Novel of the Year Award 2016 (Updated)

This post may contain affiliate links. Please see my disclosure policy.

This post has been updated with the winners.

If you’re a romance reader you may have seen a flurry of excitement on social media yesterday afternoon as the shortlists for the Romantic Novel of the Year Award were announced.

Jera's Jamboree

For just over fifty years, the Romantic Novelists’ Association has recognised and given awards for the very best in romantic fiction, with its ‘Romantic Novel of the Year’ and its ‘Love Story of the Year’ Awards. Further Awards for Romantic Comedy of the Year and Historical Novel of the Year were added in 2011 and in 2012, the Awards were further extended, restructured and renamed. And in 2015, the RoNA Rose award, which was previously announced separately, was included as a category for the first time, competing with the others for the overall prize.

The Romantic Novelists’ Association annual award is always an exciting time for publishers, authors, bloggers and readers.

The awards comprise six categories – Contemporary Romantic Novel, Epic Romantic Novel, Historical Romantic Novel, Romantic Comedy Novel, the RoNA Rose Award (for shorter and category romance) and Young Adult Romantic Novel – with five authors shortlisted for each one.

The Contemporary Romantic Novel category is for mainstream romantic novels set post-1960 and includes genres such as chick lit, paranormal and romantic suspense.

Under a Cornish Sky, Liz Fenwick, Orion

High Tide, Veronica Henry, Orion

The Wedding Cake Tree, Melanie Hudson, Choc Lit

It Started at Sunset Cottage, Bella Osborne, HarperImpulse

A Jersey Kiss, Georgina Troy, Accent Press

And the winner is:

The Wedding Cake Tree

The Epic Romantic Novel category contains serious issues or themes, including gritty, multi-generational stories.

The Book of Lost and Found, Lucy Foley, Harper Collins

The Secrets We Share, Emma Hannigan, Headline Review

The Years of Loving You, Ella Harper, Avon

After the Last Dance, Sarra Manning, Sphere

If You Go Away, Adele Parks, Headline Review

And the winner is:

The Secrets We Share

The Historical Romantic Novel category is for novels set in a period before 1960.

The Secret Kiss of Darkness, Christina Courtenay, Choc Lit

Dangerous Entrapment, Lesley Field, MuseItUp

Letters to the Lost, Iona Grey, Simon & Schuster

At the Water’s Edge, Sara Gruen, Two Roads

The Consul’s Daughter, Jane Jackson, Accent Press

And the winner is:

Letters to the Lost

The Romantic Comedy Novel is for consistently humorous or amusing novels.

One Wish In Manhattan, Mandy Baggot, Bookouture

The Royal We, Heather Cocks & Jessica Morgan, Head of Zeus

Afternoon Tea at the Sunflower Café, Milly Johnson, Simon & Schuster

How To Get Ahead in Television, Sophie Cousens, Corvus

Love From Paris, Alexandra Potter, Hodder & Stoughton

And the winner is:

Afternoon Tea at the Sunflower Cafe

The RoNA Rose Award recognises the best in category/series and shorter romance that focus on developing a love affair between the hero and heroine.

The Wedding Reject Table, Angela Britnell, Choc Lit

From Wallflower to Countess, Janice Preston, Mills & Boon Historical

Doctor… To Duchess?, Annie O’Neil, Mills & Boon Medical Romance

Cora’s Christmas Kiss, Alison May, Choc Lit

His Lost-and-Found Bride, Scarlet Wilson, Mills & Boon Cherish

And the winner is:

Doctor …To Duchess?

The Young Adult Romantic Novel features protagonists who are teenagers or young adults.

Crow Mountain, Lucy Inglis, Chicken House

Did I Mention I Love You?, Estelle Maskame, Black & White Publishing

Angel Dares, Joss Stirling, Oxford University Press

Lainey’s Lot, Lisa Tenzin-Dolma, Accent Press

Anya and the Shy Guy, Suze Winegardner, Entangled Teen

And the winner is:

Crow Mountain

 Fern Britton, television presenter and author, will present the Romantic Novelists’ Association (RNA) Awards for 2016 during a glittering ceremony in the Gladstone Library, One Whitehall Place, London SW1 on 7th March.

The winners of the six categories will be announced during the evening and those six authors will then go forward to compete for the overall prize of The Goldsboro Books Romantic Novel of the Year Award. Fern Britton will then reveal the author whose book has won the RNA’s most prestigious and coveted award, along with a cheque for £5,000 (five thousand pounds).

And the overall winner is:

Letters to the Lost

The tweets on the night kept me on the edge of my seat 🙂

Which shortlisted novels have you read?

You’re welcome to leave your links in the comments below.

I've been blogging about my interests at Jera's Jamboree for 8+ years. My love of reading, crocheting and being out in nature are all things that help me unwind from my role as an Inclusion Lead in a primary school. I'm passionate about early help and sharing strategies with families to empower and help build resilience. I'm a member of of my Local Authority's Early Help Operational Board, working alongside other professionals to instigate change and growth.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *