Christmas at the Palace Jeevani Charika
Fiction Book Reviews

Romance | Christmas at the Palace | Jeevani Charika

This post may contain affiliate links. Please see my disclosure policy.

We’re delighted to be on tour today sharing Alice-Jane’s thoughts on Christmas at the Palace by Jeevani Charika.

Jeevani Charika has written a number of hugely successful novels under the name Rhoda Baxter (and who has been a guest on Jera’s Jamboree in the past); Christmas At The Palace is one of the few times the Romantic Novelists’ Association member has written under her own name.

“A few years ago, I promised myself that by the time my daughters were old enough to read my books, I’d have at least one novel with a brown girl on the cover. It’s important to be able to see yourself reflected in popular culture. I’ve always written Sri Lankans into my rom coms written as Rhoda Baxter, but usually as secondary characters. Now finally, I have a novel, written under my own name, with a Sri Lankan main character and a heroine of colour on the cover. Yay! Princesses come in all colours.”

Here’s more about Christmas at the Palace:

Christmas at the Palace Jeevani Charika

  • Paperback: 432 pages
  • Publisher: Zaffre; None ed. edition (18 Oct. 2018)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 9781785768187
  • ISBN-13: 978-1785768187
  • ASIN: 1785768182

Not even in her wildest imaginings did Kumari ever think she’d become a princess. But having fallen for Ben – or rather Prince Benedict, sixth in line to the throne – it looks like nothing will ever go as planned again. And as Christmas rapidly approaches the distinction between family festivities and Royalty becomes ever more apparent.

With the paparazzi hounding her, her job on the line and some rather frustrating royal training, Kumari feels panic set in.

Does loving Prince Charming mean she’ll get her fairy tale ending – and on her own terms?

Snuggle up and fall in love with the perfect holiday romance, as one ordinary girl learns what it means to love a prince, perfect for fans of Heidi Swain. 

 

Available to purchase in digital, paperback and audiobook formats.

Review

I thoroughly enjoyed this enticing and charming book. Jeevani Charika has such an appealing and flowing style of writing that makes the words dance off the pages!

‘Christmas at the Palace,’ really focuses on the reality of finding one’s Prince Charming and how sadly unlike the fairytale dreams we have of the life of a princess, we cannot truly believe it is like that.

Charika’s heroine, Kumari (ironically Sri Lankan for princess!) is a compelling and strong character, who enters into the world of the royals with her eyes wide open. She is not to be glossed over and down trodden because of her ethnicity, her work or her gender and vows that her philanthropic nature will remain whatever her life choices.

This is an inspiring tale of love, but with such a realist twist of modern issues, allowing us to see behind the curtained life of the Palace!

I thoroughly recommend this story for the thought provoking descriptions of real royal life.

 

Alice-Jane guest reviewer on Jera's Jamboree

 

Jeevani CharikaJeevani Charika writes women’s fiction and contemporary romances with a hint of British cynicism.  (In case you were wondering, it’s pronounced Jeev-uh-nee.)

There’s a whole lot of other stuff she could tell you – but mainly: she’s a former scientist, an adult fan of Lego, an embarrassing mum, a part time geek (see ’embarrassing mum’) and a Very Short Person.
She also writes romantic comedy under the pen name Rhoda Baxter. So why the two names? Well… Jeevani writes about British-Sri Lankan main characters. Rhoda, not so much.

You can find out more and a get a free story, by signing up to her newsletter on her website www.jeevanicharika.com or go directly to https://www.subscribepage.com/JCwebsite

You can find Jeevani on Twitter as @rhodabaxter.

 

Don’t forget to check out the other hosts on tour.

Christmas At The Palace Jeevani Charika

 

Read all posts in the romance genre on Jera’s Jamboree.

Snuggle up under a Parkview Creative throw.

[etsy-shop shop_name=”*parkviewcreative*” section_id=23731340]

 

Family comes first! I'm married with two son's in their 20's and have a little more time now to follow my passions. I love my role as an Inclusion Lead in KS2 and I'm passionate about early help. I'm a member of Bournemouth's Early Help Operational Board working alongside others to instigate change and growth. I'm also passionate about my love of reading, being out in nature and creating with crochet. I've been blogging for eight years at Jera's Jamboree.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *