Home » Thriller » Review : The Weekend by L H Stacey

Review : The Weekend by L H Stacey

We’re delighted to be sharing Elena’s thoughts about The Weekend by L H Stacey.

Jera’s Jamboree receives payments for affiliate advertising. This is at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. As a Cratejoy affiliate I earn if you click on a link and shop from my link. Please see my disclosure policy for more information.

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B0BL9JH7V5
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Boldwood Books (13 Feb. 2023)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 6069 KB

That Lake. This house. His friends. They all know what happened to my boy. I know they do. And you… you have to help me find the truth…

A weekend to remember…

Ten years ago, deeply in love, I would have done anything for Thomas Kirkwood.

But on the night of our graduation, fuelled by drink and drugs, Thomas’s lifeless body was found floating in the Kirkwood family lake. That weekend changed everything, and I swore I would never return to Kirkwood manor.

A weekend to forget…

Now, ten years later, I have been invited back to the place that holds such terrible memories for me, to a memorial weekend for Thomas, organised by his still-grieving mother Ada.

But this is no ordinary weekend. This is a reunion to catch a killer…and I fear that I could be top of Ada’s list….

Perfect for fans of Teresa Driscoll, Sue Watson, Jackie Kabler and Kendra Elliot.

Book Review

The Weekend is the story of a group of friends whose lives are changed forever after a fateful day ten years prior.

At the centre of the story is Thomas, who is murdered on the eve of his graduation, whilst enjoying a party at his grand home with his girlfriend Lizzie and all their friends.

Thomas is a cruel and selfish character who Lizzie is hopelessly in love with. He is a bully towards his brother William and the apple of his mother, Ada’s, eye.

Ten years later, Ada has invited the group of friends to the house, Kirkwood, for a reunion and memorial for Thomas.

The reason she wants the weekend to go ahead is so that she can finally find out who killed him. She’s never believed that he died by accident and by gathering all the friends together she hopes the killer will reveal themselves although she has an idea of who it could be.

As the weekend progresses, however, strange things begin to happen and it’s clear nobody is safe. Someone is out to get them and the race is on to find out who the killer is.

The Weekend is an entertaining and enjoyable read with plenty of intrigue to keep you guessing.

I tried to work out who the killer was all the way through and thought I’d worked it out only to be mistaken.

Thomas is hedonistic and incredibly unlikeable so it wasn’t a surprise someone wanted him dead. A bully, cheat and utterly selfish, his mother can’t see any of that and is obsessed with finding out the truth.

The descriptions of the house and its grounds were great as was the twist at the end which I didn’t see coming!

The story reminded me of an Agatha Christie novel.

Track of your Book Stats up to 2030 and Beyond

With its easy-to-use layout and user-friendly design, this Google Sheet Template will help you organize and keep track of your reading.

This spreadsheet holds all the information you’ll need in one place for paperbacks, hardbacks, eBooks and audiobooks. As well as the usual stats of Title, Author, Date Published and reading progress, this book review template has data and ratings for the following:

  • series title and number
  • characters
  • atmosphere
  • writing
  • plot
  • pacing
  • world building
  • enjoyment
  • grading / star rating
Overview and Google sheet from a reading tracker

Download your copy today and keep a record to transform your love of books into an organized and enriching experience.

About the Author

As well as being the author of seven books, Stacey also works full time as a Sales Director. She’s also a fully qualified scuba diving instructor and has been known to happily jump in the sea with sharks, without a cage.

Following a life changing car accident in 2008, Stacey was left with limited mobility in her right arm. Unable to teach scuba diving professionally anymore, she turned to her love of writing, a hobby she’d followed avidly since being a teenager.

Her own life story, along with varied career choices helps Stacey to create stories with challenging and unpredictable plots.

Stacey’s debut novel ‘House of Secrets’ was published in 2016 under her full name of Lynda Stacey and her latest book ‘The Serial Killer’s Girl‘ was published by Boldwood Books in April 2022, under her new author title of L.H. Stacey.

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/Lyndastaceyauthor

Twitter https://twitter.com/LyndaStacey

Instagram https://www.instagram.com/lynda.stacey/

Newsletter Sign Up: https://bit.ly/LHStaceynewsletter

Leave a comment