Book News

How do knitting and reading go together? ~ The A to Z of You and Me

LoveCrochet
This post may contain affiliate links. Please see my disclosure policy.

When I saw the social media call for book bloggers interested in not only reviewing James Hannah’s debut, The A – Z of You and Me but also taking part in knitting a square, I immediately sent an email to Kate Green.

Why might readers be interested in knitting a square?


Kate says:

Within the book the main character Ivo has a blanket which comforts him and was
knitted by his girlfriend, the one person he cared for most and lost. His
girlfriend was a keen knitter and yarn bomber, and what better way to bring
readers and those who like to share their thoughts on novels together than to involve as
many people in the project to create this key piece from the novel.

How could I resist?

 I haven’t picked up knitting needles for years!  The instructions are really clear so I know I won’t have any problems 🙂

I am so looking forward to getting started … on both the therapy of reading AND knitting.

Here’s more about The A to Z of You and Me:

A major literary debut of love and mortality by a stunning new male voice for fans of Nathan Filer, Nick Hornby and Rachel Joyce

I’m lying here in a bed, my head full of regret, with only a little bird flitting through a tree to comfort me.

Friends want to visit, but I refuse them. So my carer Sheila has given me a task to keep me occupied.

An A-Z list. Think of a part of my body for each letter. Tell a little tale about it.

When I reach H for Heart, what will I say?

How we loved to string crocheted hearts in trees? How our hearts steadily unravelled?

So I begin with A. Adam’s apple.

Will you be there to catch me when I fall?

Publishing 12th March 2015

Author Website

Twitter @jameshannah

Family comes first! I'm married with two son's in their 20's and have a little more time now to follow my passions. I love my role as an Inclusion Lead in KS2 and I'm passionate about early help. I'm a member of Bournemouth's Early Help Operational Board working alongside others to instigate change and growth. I'm also passionate about my love of reading, being out in nature and creating with crochet. I've been blogging for eight years at Jera's Jamboree.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *