Book News

How do knitting and reading go together? ~ The A to Z of You and Me

This post may contain affiliate links. Please see my disclosure policy.

When I saw the social media call for book bloggers interested in not only reviewing James Hannah’s debut, The A – Z of You and Me but also taking part in knitting a square, I immediately sent an email to Kate Green.

Why might readers be interested in knitting a square?


Kate says:

Within the book the main character Ivo has a blanket which comforts him and was
knitted by his girlfriend, the one person he cared for most and lost. His
girlfriend was a keen knitter and yarn bomber, and what better way to bring
readers and those who like to share their thoughts on novels together than to involve as
many people in the project to create this key piece from the novel.

How could I resist?

 I haven’t picked up knitting needles for years!  The instructions are really clear so I know I won’t have any problems 🙂

I am so looking forward to getting started … on both the therapy of reading AND knitting.

Here’s more about The A to Z of You and Me:

A major literary debut of love and mortality by a stunning new male voice for fans of Nathan Filer, Nick Hornby and Rachel Joyce

I’m lying here in a bed, my head full of regret, with only a little bird flitting through a tree to comfort me.

Friends want to visit, but I refuse them. So my carer Sheila has given me a task to keep me occupied.

An A-Z list. Think of a part of my body for each letter. Tell a little tale about it.

When I reach H for Heart, what will I say?

How we loved to string crocheted hearts in trees? How our hearts steadily unravelled?

So I begin with A. Adam’s apple.

Will you be there to catch me when I fall?

Publishing 12th March 2015

Author Website

Twitter @jameshannah

I've been blogging about my interests at Jera's Jamboree for 8+ years. My love of reading, crocheting and being out in nature are all things that help me unwind from my role as an Inclusion Lead in a primary school. I'm passionate about early help and sharing strategies with families to empower and help build resilience. I'm a member of of my Local Authority's Early Help Operational Board, working alongside other professionals to instigate change and growth.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *