Fiction Book Reviews

Historical Fiction | Victory for the East End Angels | Rosie Hendry

This post may contain affiliate links. Please see my disclosure policy.

We’re delighted to be on tour today sharing Alice-Jane’s thoughts on Victory for the East End Angels by Rosie Hendry.


Book cover Victory for the East End Angels by Rosie Hendry

The war is almost over – and it’s up to the East End Angels to keep the home fires burning!

Frankie‘s fiance, a doctor, is away looking after the troops in Europe – will he return safely home?

Winnie has a happy secret – but can she carry on at Station 75 when she’s going to have a baby?

Bella is intrigued by her new friend, a Polish airman.

As the war ends and victory is in sight, what next for the girls of Station 75?

A gorgeously uplifting saga for fans of Ellie Dean and Donna Douglas


Victory for the East End Angels by Rosie Hendry is published by Sphere and is available to purchase in digital and paperback formats.

Purchase Links :  |  UK   |  US  |


Review

Rosie Hendry has once again created another world of troubles, challenges and love, faced by all the crew of the Station 75 ambulance crew of the Second World War.

A thoroughly enjoyable, and heart-warming tale of the lives of Frankie, Winnie, Bella and Rose, and how war time life has to keep going with a ‘stiff upper lip!’

As the horrors of war continue to perhaps get worse before they then get better and eventually lead to VE Day, each of the girls has personal challenges to face. This not only includes new love, but old love and the continued threat of losing those loved ones.

Yet as the station finally comes to a close as life has to move on after Victory, the realisation that life cannot go back to its pre-war style comes as a shock for some.

Rosie Hendry then allows the reader to continue with hope that the bond formed by these girls will never falter in the unknown future ahead.

I thoroughly recommend this great read! 

Alice-Jane guest reviewer on Jera's Jamboree

Author photo Rosie Hendry

Rosie Hendry lives by the sea in Norfolk with her husband, two children, chickens and a snake. She’s worked in a variety of jobs from fruit picking, waitressing, teaching and as a research scientist but has always loving reading and writing. Starting off writing short stories for women’s magazines, her stories have gradually become longer as her children have grown bigger.

Listening to her father’s tales of life during the Second World War sparked Rosie’s interest in this period and she’s especially intrigued by how women’s lives changed during the war years. She loves researching further, searching out gems of real-life events which inspire her writing.

When she’s not working, Rosie enjoys walking along the beach, reading and is grateful for the fact that her husband is a much better cook than her.

Website: www.rosiehendry.com

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/RosieHendrybooks/

Twitter https://twitter.com/hendry_rosie



I've been blogging about my interests at Jera's Jamboree for 8+ years. My love of reading, crocheting and being out in nature are all things that help me unwind from my role as an Inclusion Lead in a primary school. I'm passionate about early help and sharing strategies with families to empower and help build resilience. I'm a member of of my Local Authority's Early Help Operational Board, working alongside other professionals to instigate change and growth.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *