Fiction Book Reviews

Historical Fiction | The Forgotten Sister | Nicola Cornick

Jera's Jamboree receives compensation for affiliate advertising. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Please see my disclosure policy for more information.

We’re delighted to be on the HQ tour today sharing Laura’s thoughts for The Forgotten Sister by Nicola Cornick.


Book cover for The Forgotten Sister y Nicola Cornick

The Forgotten Sister by Nicola Cornick is published by HQ and publishes 30th April 2020 in digital, paperback and audiobook formats.

One woman’s secret will shape another’s destiny…

1560: Amy Robsart is trapped in a loveless marriage to Robert Dudley, a member of the court of Queen Elizabeth I. Surrounded by enemies and with nowhere left to turn, Amy hatches a desperate scheme to escape – one with devastating consequences that will echo through the centuries…

Present Day: When Lizzie Kingdom is forced to withdraw from the public eye in a blaze of scandal, it seems her life is over. But she’s about to encounter a young man, Johnny Robsart, whose fate will interlace with hers in the most unexpected of ways. For Johnny is certain that Lizzie is linked to a terrible secret dating back to Tudor times. If Lizzie is brave enough to go in search of the truth, then what she discovers will change the course of their lives forever.

***

Moving between the Tudor era and the present day,The Forgotten Sister is a stunning historical novel that draws on one of history’s most compelling and enduring mysteries. Perfect for fans of Lucinda Riley, Barbara Erskine, Victoria Hislop and Kate Morton.

Review

The Forgotten Sister is a captivating historical mystery.  I loved it.

A dual timeline read set in the present with Lizzie Kingdom, a children’s TV presenter and during the Tudor period following Robert Dudley’s wife, Amy.

The book follows alternating chapters between Lizzie and Amy. I thoroughly enjoyed both points of view, as I love history and especially the Tudor period, I was racing through the chapters.

Lizzie is forced to leave her celebrity lifestyle due to scandal involving her best friend, Dudley. Whilst Amy finds herself trapped in a loveless marriage and worried about the consequences of her husband’s greed and ambition.

Lizzie discovers similarities between characters in her life with a story told from the past. There are supernatural elements to this story which I found captivating and were great as helped to weave the two characters and timelines together.

An interesting read with fascinating characters and a great story.

Jera's Jamboree

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


USA Today bestselling author Nicola Cornick has written over thirty historical romances for Harlequin and HQN Books. She has been nominated twice for a RWA RITA Award and twice for the UK RNA Award. She works as a historian and guide in a seventeenth century house. In 2006 she was awarded a Masters degree with distinction from Ruskin College, Oxford, where she wrote her dissertation on heroes.Nicola loves to chat to readers about history, reading and writing.
Join the conversation on Twitter @NicolaCornick,
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/nicola.cornick/
and Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/nicolacornick/
You can find Nicola’s website at www.nicolacornick.com where you can sign up for her newsletter to be first in line for events, news and exclusive chapters.


I've been blogging about my interests at Jera's Jamboree for 9+ years. My love of reading, crocheting, being out in nature and positive psychology are all things that help me unwind from my role as an Inclusion Lead in a primary school.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This