Blood's Revolution Angus Donald
Fiction Book Reviews

Historical Fiction | Blood’s Revolution | Angus Donald

This post may contain affiliate links. Please see my disclosure policy.

We’re delighted to be sharing Laura’s thoughts today for Blood’s Revolution by Angus Donald.

Blood's Revolution Angus Donald

  • Hardcover: 368 pages
  • Publisher: Zaffre (18 Oct. 2018)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 9781785764042
  • ISBN-13: 978-1785764042
  • ASIN: 1785764047

 

Available to purchase in digital, hardcover and Audio CD formats.

IN AN AGE OF TREACHERY EVERYONE MUST PICK A SIDE . . . 

Newly returned from years of secret work in Paris, Lieutenant Holcroft Blood, a brilliant but unusual gunnery officer in His Majesty’s Ordnance, must now face King James II’s enemies on the gore-drenched battlefields of the British Isles.

But after the victory at Sedgemoor -and its cruel aftermath, the Bloody Assizes, in which the Duke of Monmouth’s rebellion was ruthlessly crushed – many powerful men have grown tired of Catholic James’s brutal, autocratic rule and seek to invite William, the Protestant Prince of Orange, to seize the thrones of the Three Kingdoms.

While revolution brews in the gentlemen’s clubs of London, Holcroft discovers that a sinister French agent, known only by his code name Narrey, has followed him across the Channel and intends to murder him. Worse, Holcroft must decide whether to join the conspirators, including his old friend Jack Churchill, now Lord Marlborough, and support Dutch William’s invasion – or remain loyal to his unpopular king.

ANGUS DONALD MIXES HISTORICAL FACT WITH FICTION IN THIS EXCITING NEW SERIES. PERFECT FOR FANS OF CONN IGGULDEN, JAMES FORRESTER, S. J. PARRIS AND S. G. MCCLEAN.

Review

Blood’s Revolution is a historical novel set during the short reign of James II and follows on from Blood’s Game. I haven’t read the first but I didn’t have any problems reading Blood’s Revolution.

The series is set around the character, Holcroft Blood, a past spy for Charles II and in this book a gunnery officer in His Majesty’s Ordnance. After the Battle of Sedgemoor we encounter his enemy a French spy, Narrey, a fictional character who brings action and suspense to the story.

The setting, characters and plot were all captured well by Angus Donald. I enjoyed the historical descriptions throughout the book, particularly a gruesome execution. This is a great novel during a dangerous period with plenty of treachery, violence and historical facts.

As a fan of Tudor history I am now looking forward to reading more about the Stuart’s.

Jera's Jamboree

 

Blood’s Game (the first in the series) has been shortlisted for a HWA Sharpe Books Gold Crown! The winner will be decided from the 6 shortlisted titles at a ceremony in November.  Good luck – we’re rooting for you Angus Donald!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Angus DonaldAngus Donald was born in 1965 and educated at Marlborough College and Edinburgh University. He has worked as a fruit-picker in Greece, a waiter in New York and as an anthropologist studying magic and witchcraft in Indonesia. For 20 years he worked as a journalist in Hong Kong, India, Afghanistan and London. He is married to Mary, with whom he has a son and a daughter, and he now writes full time from a medieval farmhouse in Tonbridge, Kent.

Angus is also the author of the bestselling Outlaw Chronicles.

Connect with Angus Donald

Website

Twitter @angus_donald

Facebook

 

Read all posts in the historical fiction genre on Jera’s Jamboree.

Family comes first! I'm married with two son's in their 20's and have a little more time now to follow my passions. I love my role as an Inclusion Lead in KS2 and I'm passionate about early help. I'm a member of Bournemouth's Early Help Operational Board working alongside others to instigate change and growth. I'm also passionate about my love of reading, being out in nature and creating with crochet. I've been blogging for eight years at Jera's Jamboree.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *