Fiction Book Reviews

Cosy Crime | Jess and the Eyeballs of Death | MB Vincent

LoveCrochet
This post may contain affiliate links. Please see my disclosure policy.

We’re delighted to be sharing Alice-Jane’s thoughts about Jess and the Eyeballs of Death by MB Vincent on tour today.


Jess and the Eyeballs of Death MB Vincent

Jess Castle is running away. Again. This time she’s running back home, like she swore she never would.

Castle Kidbury, like all small towns, hums with gossip but now it’s plagued with murder of the most gruesome kind. Jess instinctively believes that the hippyish cult camped out on the edge of town are not responsible for the spate of crucifixions that blights the pretty landscape. Her father, a respected judge, despairs of Jess as she infiltrates the cult and manages, not for the first time, to get herself arrested.

Rupert Lawson, a schooldays crush who’s now a barrister, bails her out. Jess ropes in a reluctant Rupert as she gatecrashes the murder investigation of DS Eden. A by-the-book copper, Eden has to admit that intuitive, eccentric Jess has the nose of a detective.

As the gory murders pile up, there’s nothing to connect the victims. And yet, the clues are there if you look hard enough.

Perfect for fans of MC Beaton, this is cosy crime at its most entertaining and enthralling.

Jess Castle and the Eyeballs of Death is published in paperback and eBook by Simon & Schuster, and is out now.


Review

A very entertaining and intriguing story set in a quintessential English countryside town (including all the colourful characters from the town drunk, petty criminal and general busy-body!).  Amongst the calm picturesque exterior, Castle Kidbury has the added charm of being host to a series of grotesque murders.


For Jess Castle who feels so distinctly ill- fitting in the town, the murders provide a chance for her bond with her home life once again. For Jess, her love for the past and historical significance, prevents her from focusing on the present and future and in particular inhibits her relationships.

M.B. Vincent writes a very entertaining tale of small-town life and how a tight-fitting community can appear stifling and perhaps stilted in ways of living … yet the sense of family that come with this is quite a reality. 

I hope to be able to read some more Jess Castle stories soon!

Alice-Jane guest reviewer on Jera's Jamboree

M.B. Vincent is a married couple. Bernadette writes romantic fiction and under her pen name, Juliet Ashton, has received a host of brilliant reviews for her recent novels. Michael is an award-winning songwriter who has composed scores for acclaimed films, including About a Boy and Slumdog Millionaire. They work at opposite ends of the house and they meet in the middle to write about Jess Castle and Castle Kidbury, the West Country’s goriest market town.

Twitter @jesscastlemyst


Don’t forget to check out the other hosts on tour.


Family comes first! I'm married with two son's in their 20's and have a little more time now to follow my passions. I love my role as an Inclusion Lead in KS2 and I'm passionate about early help. I'm a member of Bournemouth's Early Help Operational Board working alongside others to instigate change and growth. I'm also passionate about my love of reading, being out in nature and creating with crochet. I've been blogging for eight years at Jera's Jamboree.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *