Home » YA » Book Review | After the Rain by Natália Gomes

Book Review | After the Rain by Natália Gomes

We’re delighted to be sharing Elena’s thoughts about After the Rain by Natália Gomes.

Jera’s Jamboree receives payments for affiliate advertising. This is at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. As a Cratejoy affiliate I earn if you click on a link and shop from my link. Please see my disclosure policy for more information.

book cover for After the Rain by Natália Gomes.  Background suggests rain.  In the middle of the cover is a silhouette of a male and female sheltering under a black umbrella that has vines and flowers over it and around the edges
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ HQ Young Adult (8 July 2021)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Paperback ‏ : ‎ 352 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 0008291810
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-0008291815
  • Reading age ‏ : ‎ 13 years and up

‘We’re alive. So let’s start living.’

Two strangers

Jack was sporty and outgoing. Alice was bookish and introverted. Their lives were on completely different paths.

One life-changing tragedy

That is before the day they were in the wrong place at the wrong time: before the day their lives were torn apart in a bombing.

A hopeful new friendship

Struggling to cope with their new worlds, their unlikely new friendship helps them find hope. But can they help each other rebuild their lives and start again?

Powerful and compelling After the Rain is the brand-new novel from Natália Gomes, perfect for fans of The Fault in Our Stars by John Green and Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon.

After the Rain Review

This wonderful YA book tells the story of popular, outgoing and sporty Jack and introverted bookish Alice. They are total opposites but are united through the most awful of circumstances.

Jack and Alice meet by chance when the absolutely unthinkable happens and a bomb goes off. They are both affected. As the reality of what has happened to them becomes apparent they each have to deal with the aftermath of that fateful day. 

Throughout their recovery they are there for each other and their friendship is the one positive outcome of what happened. They help each other as they try to live with their new normal and as dreams are shattered they have to start from the very beginning to imagine a different future to the one they always thought they would have.

After the Rain packed a powerful emotional punch and I read it quickly. The author has done an outstanding job of tackling the issues of depression, anxiety and PTSD as well as the realities of living with physical disabilities and the frustration and anger that creates.

The beauty of the story lies in the friendship between Jack and Alice and the way they help each other through is fantastic. The chapters alternate from each of their viewpoints and they are quick and punchy which gave a sense of urgency and left me wanting to carry on reading.

This book is heartbreaking, poignant and ultimately hopeful and makes a brilliant quick read. 

Track of your Book Stats up to 2030 and Beyond

With its easy-to-use layout and user-friendly design, this Google Sheet Template will help you organize and keep track of your reading.

This spreadsheet holds all the information you’ll need in one place for paperbacks, hardbacks, eBooks and audiobooks. As well as the usual stats of Title, Author, Date Published and reading progress, this book review template has data and ratings for the following:

  • series title and number
  • characters
  • atmosphere
  • writing
  • plot
  • pacing
  • world building
  • enjoyment
  • grading / star rating
Overview and Google sheet from a reading tracker

Download your copy today and keep a record to transform your love of books into an organized and enriching experience.


Natália Gomes grew up in a small village in the north-east of Scotland. She spent twelve years in the US working in public schools before returning to Scotland.

Her debut YA novel ‘Dear Charlie’ was longlisted for Dublin’s International Literary Award in 2018 and her third book ‘We Are Not Okay’ was selected at Nottingham’s Big City Reads in 2019.

She has appeared on author panels at London’s YALC, Dublin’s DeptCon and for reading campaigns such as Big City Reads.

Natália has Masters degrees in Education and Literature, and is working on her doctorate in English.

Follow her on Instagram @ndgomes and on Twitter @nd_gomes

Leave a comment