Advertisement
Christmas at Liberty's Fiona Ford
Blog tour,  Book Review

Saga | Christmas at Liberty’s | Fiona Ford

This post may contain affiliate links. Please see my disclosure policy.

We’re delighted to be sharing Alice-Jane’s review on tour today for Christmas at Liberty’s by Fiona Ford.

Christmas at Liberty’s is the first novel in a series and perfect for fans of Elaine Everest, Nancy Revell and Mr Selfridge.

Christmas at Liberty's Fiona Ford

  • Paperback: 368 pages
  • Publisher: Arrow (15 Nov. 2018)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1787461378
  • ISBN-13: 978-1787461376

London, September 1941.

Mary arrives in war-torn London nursing a broken heart and a painful secret after being dishonourably discharged from the Army. When she is offered her dream post as an assistant in the fabric department at Liberty store, she knows this is the fresh start she needs. Amid the store’s vibrant prints and sumptuous interiors, Mary finds a new family who help her to heal and put the ghosts of the past to rest.

But not everyone will give Mary such a warm welcome, and the trauma of her past will soon catch up with her. As Mary and the Liberty Girls endure the heartache, uncertainty and danger of war, it will take a steady heart and unwavering courage to keep the magic of Christmas alive.

Set around the iconic Carnaby Street department store at the height of the Blitz in London, this heart-warming story of friendship and courage at Christmas is the perfect holiday read.

Available to purchase in digital, paperback and audiobook formats.

Review

I thoroughly enjoyed this charming book, finding the story heartwarming and compelling!

Fiona Ford has captured the heart wrenching sadness and strife inflicted during the war years, and has lifted the reader into the pages in doing so.

The heroine Mary, takes the reader on her journey with the war effort, struggling with her family’s disownment, and how she manages to fight the prejudice of those around her to form a surrogate family with the Liberty’s girls!

Ford has written her story to encompass the discrimination that still ensues amongst the classes, which then clashes with the unity of the war efforts allowing for young and old, rich and poor to come together.

I look forward to reading more of the Liberty’s Girls stories!

 

Alice-Jane guest reviewer on Jera's Jamboree

 

Fiona FordFiona Ford spent many years as a journalist writing for women’s weekly and monthly magazines before becoming a full time author, and uses her journalistic experience researching her books.  Fiona tirelessly combed the Westminster Archives and Liberty records for details about what life was really like working in London and Liberty’s during WWII, lending a true sense of authenticity to her writing. Fiona is also the author of the A Pug Like Percy books under the pseudonym, Fiona Harrison, as well as two sagas in her own name in the Spark Girls series. Fiona lives in Berkshire with her partner.

Connect with Fiona Ford

Website

Twitter @Fionajourno

Facebook

 

Don’t forget to check out the other hosts on tour.

Christmas at Liberty's Fiona Ford

 

Read all posts in the saga genre on Jera’s Jamboree.

Family comes first! I'm married with two son's in their 20's and have a little more time now to follow my passions. I love my role as an Inclusion Lead in KS2 and I'm passionate about early help. I'm a member of Bournemouth's Early Help Operational Board working alongside others to instigate change and growth. I'm also passionate about my love of reading, being out in nature and creating with crochet. I've been blogging for eight years at Jera's Jamboree.

Leave a Reply

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked *