Advertisement

  • Thriller | The Silenced | Stephen Lloyd Jones

    In April I took part in the tour for Stephen Lloyd Jones’ latest novel, The Silenced.  I shared the first chapter with you and believe me, that pace keeps up throughout the story.  I’m sharing my thoughts with you today and yes, I’ve loved everything about this supernatural thriller.

    The Silenced Stephen Lloyd Jones

    Format: Kindle Edition

    File Size: 1595 KB

    Print Length: 448 pages

    Publisher: Headline (22 Feb. 2018)

    Language: English

    ASIN: B01LXW67FC

    The Silenced is a fast-paced thriller that you won’t be able to put down. Terrifying and electrifying in equal measure, Stephen Lloyd Jones’s new novel is perfect for fans of Stephen King, Sarah Lotz and M R Carey.

    Mallory Grace just killed a man. To survive the next hour, she’ll have to kill again. To survive the night, she’ll need a miracle.

    Obadiah Macintosh doesn’t seem like a miracle. He is a recluse who works alone at an animal sanctuary, and he has a secret. When the dogs in his care alert him to intruders hidden by the darkness, he knows they are coming for him.

    Mallory and Obadiah were strangers, brought together for one purpose. To give new light to a terrifying world.

    But now they are on the run, and evil intends to find them.

    THE SILENCED is fast-paced, dark and electrifying – the war between good and evil is brewing . . .

    Available to purchase in digital and paperback formats.

    Review

    When I first started reading The Silenced I was determined to keep a distance from the characters.  After all, when evil is on the hunt, inevitably there’s going to be some kind of ending … but I found it impossible to hold myself apart and even found myself wavering towards the evil that’s honed specifically to destroy Mallory and Obe.  So that’s the first thing to be aware of.  These characters are easy to love and will cause you many moments of suspense, worry and tears.  As will Yoda! The characters experience some extreme conditions and you’ll find yourself willing them on, although to what end?

    I loved the chase!  London, Cornwall, the Lake District, Yorkshire, Wales, Weymouth, Chesil Beach, France, Italy, Spain … each setting has dangers and blessings and because Stephen Lloyd Jones’ writing is so vivid and visual, it’s easy to immerse yourself in each scene.  It really is edge of your seat tension.  And there isn’t a place in the story where you can stop either which makes for a page turner (and late nights – just one more chapter syndrome!).  Something else to be aware of.

    The reason?  Ancient feud.  Bloodlines.  Metaphysical.  Supernatural. A gift.  A leader and dictator who rules by breaking his followers spirits with depravity and pain; making his way of reasoning seem valid and logical ensuring detachment and betrayals.  Such a powerful force and with connections in all sorts of places – easy to leave no avenue unexplored on the hunt to kill.  Where one simple mistake could cost a life …

    The Silenced is fast paced, dark and yes, it does have hope and light.  For me, another outstanding read from this author.  Don’t miss it!

    Connect with Stephen Lloyd Jones

    Twitter @sljonesauthor

    Facebook page

     

    Headline on Jera’s Jamboree.

    Family comes first! I’m married with two son’s in their 20’s and have a little more time now to follow my passions.

    I love my role as an Inclusion Lead in KS2 and I’m passionate about early help. I’m a member of Bournemouth’s Early Help Operational Board working alongside others to instigate change and growth.

    I’m also passionate about my love of reading, being out in nature and creating with crochet.

    I’ve been blogging for eight years at Jera’s Jamboree.

    Follow:

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *