Saga | The Spark Girl by Fiona Ford

I’m delighted to be sharing with you today Laura’s guest review for Fiona Ford’s novel, The Spark Girl.

Next month I will be welcoming Fiona in my hot seat where you’ll be able to find out her inspiration, about the scene she found the hardest to write as well as what she considers to be the best part of her writing journey so far.  Don’t miss it!

 

The Spark Girl Fiona Ford

 

Format: Kindle Edition

File Size: 1415 KB

Print Length: 320 pages

Publisher: Orion (1 Jun. 2017)

Language: English

ASIN: B01M61X07Q

ISBN-10: 1409170101

ISBN-13: 978-1409170105

A knock on the door early one morning wouldn’t normally be cause for concern but it is 1941, Britain is at war, and Kitty Williams’s fiancé Joe is far from home fighting Hitler with the Navy. As Kitty’s heart is shattered into pieces hearing the news she had been dreading, resolve kicks in and she becomes more determined than ever to do her bit for the war effort.

Signing up to the Women’s Army is just the sort of challenge Kitty needs and on meeting new recruits Mary, Di and Peggy, she is happy to learn that the challenge won’t be a lonely one. But it also won’t be easy and when bombs start to fall on her home town of Coventry, and supposed allies turn against her, Kitty must find the strength she never knew she had to save her family, fix her broken heart and help her country to victory.

The Spark Girl is an absorbing and poignant saga, perfect for fans of Daisy Styles, Kate Thompson and Ellie Dean.

Available to purchase in Kindle and Hardcover formats now with the paperback publication 24th August.

Spark Girl is set in Coventry and Northampton during the Second World War. Due to a tragic loss, Kitty Williams becomes determined to help in the war effort and joins up in the Woman’s Army. She soon becomes friends with her fellow recruits Mary, Do and Peggy.

This historical novel includes themes of friendship, courage, heartbreak and trust. An interesting storyline that captures the lives and roles which women undertook as spark girls.

Overall this book is an enjoyable read with a twist towards the end to keep the reader engaged until the next one!

Jera's Jamboree

Fiona Ford is a freelance journalist. She has spent the last 15 years writing gritty real-life stories, news and a smidgeon of celebrity tittle-tattle for national newspapers and magazines. Following a stint as a ghost writer, Fiona plucked up the courage to combine her love of writing and history to write a novel in her own name. The Spark Girl, is her first saga.

Originally from Bath, Fiona now lives in Berkshire and is married with two cats. Thankfully, both her husband and pets have all mastered the art of pretending to listen patiently as she begins yet another anecdote with the words, ‘during the war’. When she is not writing or researching World War 2, Fiona can be found running along the Thames Path, training for a half marathon of some kind and wishing she was sat on the sofa eating chocolate instead.

To find out more about Fiona follow her on twitter @fionajourno or visit her website www.fionaford.co.uk.

Married with two sons in their early 20’s, I love my day job as an Inclusion Lead. I am passionate about early help, expressed not only in my setting but also as a member of Bournemouth’s Early Help Operational Board. It’s an honour to be working alongside others to instigate change and growth.

I’m also passionate about my love of reading, being out in nature and creating with crochet.

I’ve been blogging for seven years at Jera’s Jamboree.

Follow:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *