Contemporary Fiction | Paper Hearts and Summer Kisses by Carole Matthews

A few years ago I enjoyed getting lost in the creativity at cardmaking/scrapbooking classes (all those techniques, stationery, crafting goodies and colour choices = heaven for me) so I was excited to get started on Carole Matthews new novel, Paper Hearts and Summer Kisses.  Hands up, I do love a Carole Matthews novel but I have to be honest and say I think this is Carole’s best story yet.  What an emotional rollercoaster …

Already available in hardcover and digital formats, from today, you can purchase in paperback too.

Hardcover: 432 pages

Publisher: Sphere (15 Dec. 2016)

Language: English

ISBN-10: 0751560243

ISBN-13: 978-0751560244

Christie Chapman is a single working mother who spends her days commuting to her secretarial job in London and looking after her teenage son, Finn. It can be tough just getting through the day but Christie has always found comfort in her love of crafting and any spare time she has is spent in her parents’ summerhouse working on her beautiful creations. From intricately designed birthday cards to personalised gifts, Christie’s flair for the handmade knows no bounds and it’s not long before opportunity comes knocking. All of a sudden Christie sees a different future for her and Finn – one full of hope and possibility, and if the handsome Max Alexander is to be believed, one full of love too. It’s all there for the taking.

And then, all of sudden, Christie’s world is turned upside down.

Christie knows that something has to give, but what will she choose? Will she give up her dreams and the chance of real love? What price will she pay for doing the right thing? Can Christie find her happy ending in . . . Paper Hearts and Summer Kisses.

A heart-warming and poignant novel of romance, family and second chances, Paper Hearts and Summer Kisses is Sunday Times bestselling Carole Matthews at her outstanding best. Perfect for fans of Jill Mansell and Milly Johnson.

Carole Matthews writes in a first person narrative so well, drawing you in from the beginning with characters that are relatable.  Before I’d even turned the first page I was nodding along, identifying with Christie and already emotionally invested in the story.

Paper Hearts and Summer Kisses has a real family at its heart.  With her mum and dad a big part of Christie and Finn’s life they’re involved in supporting them through the mundanity of everyday life and of course when the conflict comes, they’re a part of that too.  Not only did I feel for Christie and Finn but them too!  So much emotion.

Loved Finn!  and the relationship he has with mum Christie (my eldest calls me Mother – couldn’t help but smile).  This story is as much about him as it is about the romance.  I felt the frustration with school and even how much he missed Liam.  The fear was palpable too.  I so wanted everything to be ok and several times wasn’t sure how things would go.  It’s not often I want to scan ahead to see if I can relax a bit but I had to curb the urge as I really didn’t want to spoil it.

Of course Carole Matthews’ humour is a part of the story too.  The date with Henry (although I felt sorry for Christie) was so funny.  For Max I would have done absolutely anything …  Christie was such an inspiration!  I’m not sure I would have made the choices she made 🙂

Paper Hearts and Summer Kisses

What an ending.  I do love a bit of pizzazz and sparkle.

Paper Hearts and Summer Kisses was an inspiring read.  I probably don’t need to say it but I enjoyed the papercrafting theme as much as the ping on my heartstrings. If you have an opportunity you’re scared of taking or a challenge coming up, the Chapman family will lift you up and give you hope.  This story will appeal to a wide audience and I have no hesitation in recommending you pick up a copy.

It’s a Keeper

Happy Publication Day

Connect with Carole

Website

Twitter @carolematthews

Facebook

 

Married with two sons in their early 20's, by day I'm an Inclusion Lead in a local school. I recharge my batteries by reading and being out in nature. I've been blogging for six years, four of those years exclusively about the literary world and during that time awarded Romance Blogger of the Year at the inaugural Festival of Romance. I'm enjoying the freedom of lifestyle blogging and sharing my love of anything that makes life easier! As well as a lover of words, I'm a stationery addict and lifelong learner. I believe strongly in early help for special educational needs, disability and families who are struggling. I'm a member of my local Early Help Board and it's an honour to be working alongside others to instigate change and growth.