Don’t miss new YA imprint Ink Road @inkroadbooks @bwpublishing

I’m giving a shout out to new YA imprint Ink Road (from independent Scottish publishers Black & White Publishing).

Why today?  because the first of their titles is published so a very exciting time!

I love the logo and tagline:

Ink Road

 

I love the contemporary font, tagline and the starkness of colour.  The message to me is that this imprint is here for the long haul!

As readers we all know that opening the pages of a new book or choosing a book on an e-reader is the start to a different world than the one we inhabit.  We start a new journey into a different world …

What types of novels will you find with Ink Road?

Ink Road are publishing books with a contemporary and forward thinking focus, from both debut and experienced authors.

Ink Road’s, Megan Duff says:

“We want our books to take readers on a journey. It’s an important idea, as great stories accompany us from our teenage years right through our adult lives. We want to produce original, exciting and memorable books at the same time as fostering a lifelong love of reading.”

For those of you who have been finding it difficult to find YA reads, you just might find what you’re looking for with this imprint!

If you’re an author looking for a publisher to submit your YA novel, Ink Road are open for submissions.  They’re on the lookout for new and exciting YA fiction so if you think you’ve written something that might interest them, find submission guidelines on the Black & White Publishing website.

The first title publishing today is The Jungle by Pooja Puri.  You’ll find The Jungle in this BuzzFeed article (Just Some Really Excellent YA Books You Need To Know About).

 

Ink Road

 

There was a story Jahir used to tell me. About how the first humans were born with wings. Can you imagine what that would be like? To fly anywhere in the world without worrying about having the right papers?

Mico has left his family, his home, his future. Setting out in search of a better life, he instead finds himself navigating one of the world’s most inhospitable environments – the Jungle. For Mico, just one of many ‘unaccompanied children’, the Calais refugee camp has a wildness, a brutality all of its own.

A melting pot of characters, cultures, and stories, the Jungle often seems like its own strange world. But despite his ambitions to escape, Mico is unable to buy his way out from the ‘Ghost Men’ – the dangerous men with magic who can cross borders unnoticed. Alone, desperate, and running out of options, the idea of jumping onto a speeding train to the UK begins to feel worryingly appealing.

But when Leila arrives at the camp one day, everything starts to change. Outspoken, gutsy, and fearless, she shows Mico that hope and friendship can grow in the most unusual places, and maybe, just maybe, they’ll show you the way out as well.

Fans of Khaled Hosseini, Benjamin Zephaniah’s Refugee Boy and Gillian Cross’ After Tomorrow will love this important and touching debut novel which touches on community, friendship, hope and the very real dangers of everyday life in the Calais refugee camp, known as The Jungle.

Other titles due to be published:

  • April :  Street Song by award winning Irish writer Sheena Wilkinson
  • July : Dare to Fall by winner of the Young Scots Arts Award in 2016, Estelle Maskame
  • August : T is for Tree by Greg Fowler

An exciting line up!

Keep up to date on their social media channels:

Facebook

Twitter @inkroadbooks

Instagram inkroadbooks

YouTube

Google+

Are you a YA/NA reader?  What makes you pick up a novel?  What do you look for?

Ink Road is definitely an imprint to watch out for.  Happy Reading!

Married with two sons in their early 20's, by day I'm an Inclusion Lead in a local school. I recharge my batteries by reading and being out in nature. I've been blogging for six years, four of those years exclusively about the literary world and during that time awarded Romance Blogger of the Year at the inaugural Festival of Romance. I'm enjoying the freedom of lifestyle blogging and sharing my love of anything that makes life easier! As well as a lover of words, I'm a stationery addict and lifelong learner. I believe strongly in early help for special educational needs, disability and families who are struggling. I'm a member of my local Early Help Board and it's an honour to be working alongside others to instigate change and growth.